The Dead Sea Scrolls
  • Release Date : 30 December 1998
  • Publisher : HarperOne
  • Categories : Bibles
  • Pages : 513 pages
  • ISBN 13 : 0060692014
  • ISBN 10 : 9780060692018
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Synopsis : The Dead Sea Scrolls written by Michael O. Wise, published by HarperOne which was released on 30 December 1998. Download The Dead Sea Scrolls Books now! Available in PDF, EPUB, Mobi Format. From a new generation of Dead Sea Scrolls scholars comes this landmark work. Michael Wise, Martin Abegg, Jr. and Edward Cook bring the long-inaccessible ancient scrolls of Qumran vividly to life, translating and deciphering virtually every legible portion of the fragmented scrolls, with startling results. For the first time since their discovery, this historic volume reveals: Intriguing revelations about biblical history and the roots of Christianity. Never-before-seen stories about Abraham, Jacob, and Enoch -- including a text explaining why God demanded the sacrifice of Isaac. Twelve texts not included in the Bible that claim Moses as their author. New psalms attributed to King David and to Joshua. Texts illuminating ancient doctrines about angels and writings claiming to be revelations of angels themselves -- including the Archangel Michael. The translators provide pointed commentary throughout that places the scrolls in their true historical context. Their compelling, insightful introduction not only presents an overview of the often surprising contents of the scrolls, it discusses what are perhaps their greatest mysteries -- who authored them and why.